Select Page

Albert Pujols winner of LatinoMVP Award

The Latino Sports Writers & Broadcasters Association (LSWBA) will honor Albert Pujols as the winner of the prestigious LatinoMVP Award (National League) for the 2011 Major League Baseball season. In addition, the LSWBA and Latino Sports will also acknowledge Mr. Arturo Moreno, owner of the Angels baseball team and Mr. Lou Meléndez, Major League Baseball executive that will be retiring after over two decades of service at MLB.

The event will take place on Wednesday September 26th, 2012 in two stages. A luncheon with members of the Latino community where the Honorable, Tom Tait, Mayor of Anaheim will give greetings and a pre-game ceremony where Mr. Pujols will receive the official LatinoMVP award.

Albert Pujols, has won this award a record nine (9) consecutive times becoming the first player to win in so many consecutive years. The Red Sox’ David Ortiz and Yankees Robinson Cano have been the only other two players in the 23 years of this prestigious award to have won two consecutive years in a row. Upon notification of the award, Mr. Pujols stated “I don’t play for awards, but at the same time it’s an honor to win an award voted on by the Latino media.”

The LatinoMVP award began in 1989 when many in the Latino media & community felt that Ruben Sierra of the Texas Rangers was overlooked for the American League MVP, which was given to Robin Yount of the Milwaukee Brewers.

Mr. Julio Pabón President of Latino Sports stated, “it’s an honor to celebrate Hispanic Heritage month honoring the LatinoMVP, Albert Pujols, a Dominican, and also acknowledging the contributions of both Mr. Moreno, the only Latino owner of a major league team and of Mexican heritage and Mr. Melendez, a Puerto Rican who was the highest-ranking Latino executive in MLB.

For more information call 718.402.9310 or email

Luncheon: 12:30pm – 2:30pm at The Catch Restaurant
Pre-Game Ceremony – Angels Stadium prior to 7:05 PM Game.



Article Categories