Select Page

NHMC Announces Honorees for 17th Annual Impact Awards

NHMC Announces Honorees for 17th Annual Impact Awards

The National Hispanic Media Coalition (NHMC), the leading media advocacy and civil rights organization for the benefit and advancement of Latinos, announced today the honorees for the organization’s 17th Annual NHMC Impact Awards Gala to be held on Friday, February 28, 2014 at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills, Calif.  The NHMC Impact Awards Gala recognizes the outstanding achievements and contributions to the positive portrayals of Latinos in media, and is one of the premiere Latino entertainment events in the country, hosting Hollywood’s most influential figures.

Emily Rios

Emily Rios

This year NHMC is honoring Cesar Chavez director Diego Luna for Outstanding Direction in a Motion Picture; Academy Award-nominated Demián Bichir and Emily Rios for Outstanding Performance in a Television Series on The Bridge; executive producer George Parra for Excellence in Motion Picture Producing on the Golden Globe-winning and Academy Award-nominated American Hustle and Nebraska; and Comcast Corporation will be recognized for its Outstanding Diversity Practices.

“The media has the power to make this country a better place for all Americans by becoming more inclusive of the Latino community,” said NHMC President and CEO Alex Nogales. “This year’s honorees are changing the media landscape to reflect the reality that Latinos are an integral part of the American fabric. It is NHMC’s privilege to celebrate these talented and creative Latino artists.”

To learn more about the honorees, please visit Extended talent biographies and headshots can be provided upon request. Additional honorees will be announced in the coming weeks.

For the latest updates on the 17th Annual NHMC Impact Awards Gala, follow NHMC on Twitter @nhmc and hashtag #ImpactAwards.

Past honorees include Eva Longoria, Robert Rodriguez, Michelle Rodriguez, America Ferrera, James Cameron, Lana Parrilla, George Lopez, Cesar Millan, Zoe Saldana, Mario Lopez, Gina Torres, Rosario Dawson, and the late Lupe Ontiveros. The NHMC Impact Awards Gala also raises important funds to support NHMC’s efforts to increase positive media portrayals of Latinos, advance Latino employment at all levels of the media industry, and push for federal media and telecommunications policies that benefit Latinos and other people of color.

For tickets and additional information about the 17th Annual NHMC Impact Awards Gala, visit:

The 17th Annual NHMC Impact Awards Gala is supported by The Walt Disney Company and Disney ABC Television Group. Other sponsors include Comcast NBCUniversal, Univision Communications, Inc., NUVOtv, and Bright House Networks. For information on becoming a sponsor and placing an ad in the NHMC Impact Awards Gala program book, please visit

Our coverage from the 2013 Impact Awards. Exclusive photos taken by Richard Sandoval
[flickr_set id=”72157632837434248″]

Article Categories