Select Page

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences – Invitation to Latinos

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences – Invitation to Latinos

submitted by,  National Latino Media Council

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced they have extended invitations to 22 Latino members to join the Academy. In the actors category the following Latino members were included: Miriam Colon, Rosario Dawson, Jennifer Lopez, Alma Martinez, Michael Peña, Geno Silva, and Danny Trejo. The Academy extended an invitation to a total of 276 artists and executives in various categories.

Congressman Esteban Torres (Ret.), Chairman of the National Latino Media Council (NLMC) stated, “We applaud the actions by the Academy, and look forward to continue to work with them in the future.”

In April of this year, members of NLMC, led by Congressman Esteban Torres (Ret.), met with representatives of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences to discuss ways in which to increase Latino representation amongst members of the Academy. The meeting was held after an outcry from the Latino community arose regarding Lupe Ontiveros’ exclusion from the Oscars’ ‘In Memoriam’ segment of the broadcast, and a desire to discuss their concern about the lack of diversity in the Academy’s membership.

Alma Martinez, Actor, who was among the 22 Latino invitees announced today stated, “I can’t remember a time in our recent history where there has been so much Latino political activism occurring simultaneously across so many fields and across the country. I received a letter inviting me to become a member of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts & Sciences. To say I am elated is an understatement.”

In today’s release from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, Academy President Hawk Koch stated, “These individuals are among the best filmmakers working in the industry today. Their talent and creativity have captured the imagination of audiences worldwide, and I am proud to welcome each of them to the Academy.”

Below is a list of the 22 Latinos included:

Miriam Colon – “City of Hope,” “Scarface”<s
Rosario Dawson – “Rent,” “Frank Miller’s Sin City”
Jennifer Lopez – “What to Expect When You’re Expecting,” “Selena”
Alma Martinez – “Born in East L.A.,” “Under Fire”
Michael Peña – “End of Watch,” “Crash”
Geno Silva – “Mulholland Drive,” “Amistad”
Danny Trejo – “Machete,” “Heat”

Checco Varese – “Girl in Progress,” “The Aura”

Costume Designers
Paco Delgado – “Les Misérables,” “Biutiful”

Pablo Larraín – “No,” “Tony Manero”

Rebecca Cammisa – “God Is the Bigger Elvis,” “Which Way Home”
Eduardo Coutinho – “As Canções,” “Cabra Marcado Para Morrer (Twenty Years Later)”
Patricio Guzmán – “Nostalgia for the Light,” “The Battle of Chile”
José Padilha – “Secrets of the Tribe,” “Bus 174 (Ônibus 174)”
Renee Tajima-Pena – “Who Killed Vincent Chin?,” “My America (Or Honk If You Love Buddha)”

Makeup Artists and Hairstylists
Luisa Abel – “The Dark Knight Rises,” “Inception”
Kim Santantonio – “Gangster Squad,” “Frost/Nixon”

Victoria Alonso
Mindy Marin

Cliff Martinez – “Drive,” “Traffic”

Jose Antonio Garcia – “Argo,” “Babel”
Edward J. Hernandez – “Real Steel,” “Basic Instinct”

About NLMC
Created in 1999, the National Latino Media Council (NLMC) is comprised of the 15 largest Latino civil rights and advocacy organizations dedicated to increasing Latino employment in the media industry, at all levels both in front and behind the camera, do away with negative stereotypes, and advocate for media policy that benefits the Latino community. NLMC is also the group that signed Memoranda of Understanding with ABC, CBS, NBC, and Fox therefore increasing the employment ranks of Latinos and other people of color at all four networks. The Coalition is chaired by former Congressman Esteban Torres with the National Hispanic Media Coalition (NHMC) acting as its secretariat. Learn more at


Article Categories