Select Page

NHLI Announces the 2013 Mujer Awards Honorees

The National Hispana Leadership Institute (NHLI), the nation’s premier leadership organization for Latinas has announced the Honorees for the 20th Anniversary Mujer Awards. Since 1993, NHLI’s Annual Mujer Awards have recognized the lifetime achievements of Hispanic women who have served their communities and acted with justice, love, and the deepest pride in their culture. 

The Mujer Awardees embody the values and philosophy of NHLI as stated in the eligibility criteria. The recipient of the 2013 National Mujer Award is Cecilia Muñoz, Assistant to the President and Director of the Domestic Policy Council for The White House. The 2013 Regional Mujer Award will honor Dr. Isabel Gomez-Bassols, Psychologist Radio Personality for Univision America. The 2013 Alumnae of the Year is Magda N. Yrizarry, Chief Talent and Diversity Officer, Verizon Communications and a graduate of the 2001 class of the Executive Leadership Program.

“It is an incredible honor to be named the 2013 Alumna of the Year and I can only accept the award if on behalf of all my remarkable 2001 ELP Hermanas,”
 said Ms. Yrizarry, “They and NHLI have had a deep influence on both my personal life and career trajectory.”

This year’s winners will receive their award at the 20th Anniversary Mujer Awards Gala taking place November 14, 2013 at the Organization of American States Main Building in Washington, DC. “There were many deserving women nominated for each award, however, each of our Honorees were chosen for their spectacular record of serving the community and career achievements,” said NHLI President Ann Marquez.

During the 20th Anniversary Mujer Awards, each Honoree will become part of a great legacy. They will join the ranks of the past Mujer Awards recipients which include Ivelisse Estrada, Lidia Soto-Harmon, Cristina Saralegui, Eva Longoria, Rosario Dawson, and Janet Murguia. To attend the 20th Anniversary Mujer Awards, visit for ticket information.


Article Categories